Okan University (OKAN), one of the youngest and the most dynamic universities in Turkey, was founded by Okan Culture, Education, and Sports Foundation in 1999 and began its academic life in 2003-2004. OKAN, growing rapidly, has reached 339 full time academicians, a student body of 29.000 and offers more than 140 undergraduate and graduate programs at its 15th year. The University comprises eight faculties: Faculty of Education, Faculty of Engineering, Faculty of Dentistry, Faculty of Medicine, Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences, Faculty of Law, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, and Faculty of Fine Arts and Architecture. OKAN also has a Vocational School that offers two-year, associate degree programs in various professional fields.

OKAN has emphasized university-business cooperation since its establishment. Working together with various business sectors, the university has developed curricula and internship programs for its students to enhance their employability skills.
OKAN attaches particular importance to its international programs. It has established cooperation and exchange protocols with universities around the world. The University takes part in European and International Exchange Programmes. It also has academic collaborations with universities in the United States of America, Great Britain, Russia, China and Eurasian countries. OKAN and some of its academicians took place in many EU projects in the past. Recently they were one of the lead partners in HORIZON 2020 optiTruck Project and at the moment they are partners in MODALES and RECIPROCITY projects
One of the focused research areas of OKAN is “Intelligent and Electrical Vehicle Technologies”. The Transport Technology and Intelligent Automotive Systems Research Center (TTIS) was established in 2009 to contribute to intense relevant ongoing research activities in Turkey and in EU, to improve efficiency and to develop intelligent and ultra-low emission transport. Related to this specific research area TTIS developed projects for SAE3 level autonomous vehicles, battery and energy management systems etc.

TTIS is a member of ERTICO and a member of EGVIA. Under TTIS, “Innovative Electric and Hybrid Vehicles Technology Development and Cluster Center” (e-Hike) has been formed with the support of the related industry associations. Besides this centre, also “Intelligent and Communicating Vehicles Technology Development and Cluster Center” (e-Hike Link) has been formed with the support of automotive, electronic and software companies associations. Both projects have been funded by the Istanbul Development Agency.

One of the important projects that Istanbul Okan University is coordinating at the moment is OPINA ( Open Innovation Autonomous Vehicle Development and Testing Platform) funded by IPA( Instrument for pre-Accession Assistance). Additionally the Technology Transfer Office supports TTIS actions while creating international and national partnership in its research area and reaching strategic targets of the centre. The TTO aims to assist research and innovation activities to enable the transfer of scientific and technological developments in the direction of the society and the economy.